Feb 21, 2013 6:55 PM by Jordan Mason

'95-'96 Hockey team highlights 2013 CC Hall of Fame class

Twenty-seven members of the 1995-96 Colorado College hockey team, which steamrolled to the NCAA championship game before suffering a 3-2 overtime loss to the University of Michigan, will join former football standout Ryan Haygood ‘97, men's lacrosse great Ted Nusbaum ‘94 and basketball player/longtime women's lacrosse coach Michelle (Giarratano) Secor ‘80 in the Colorado College Athletics Hall of Fame this spring.

The new inductees will be enshrined officially as the HOF's 17th class during a ceremonial dinner at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort on Saturday, April 27, 2013

Haygood, a freshman defensive end on the football team that went 8-1 in 1993, earned All-America and Academic All-America accolades as a senior in 1996. He led the Tigers that season with 102 tackles, including 48 unassisted and 12 for losses, as well as nine sacks and three recovered fumbles. Now an attorney, he also returned an interception for 55 yards. He lettered all four years, helping Colorado College post a 19-16-1 record during his career.

With 276 career points, including 153 assists, Nusbaum still reigns as the lacrosse team's most prolific playmaker of all time. Both figures represent school records almost two decades later, while his 123 goals places him among an elite group of 11 CC players ever to reach the century mark. As a senior in 1994, he led the Tigers to their fourth of six titles in the old Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association with 87 points (29g,58a).

Secor lettered three seasons (1976-79) as a guard during the infant stages of the women's basketball program, helping Colorado College win the AIAW Region 7 Championship and reach nationals her freshman year. After graduating in 1980, she coached the women's lacrosse club team on a volunteer basis for 14 years before the Lady Tigers achieved varsity status in 1995, then continued to assist head coach Susan Stuart Elliott for many seasons after that. She also has served multiple terms as a alumni representative on the Hall of Fame selection committee.

The 1995-96 icers, coached by Don Lucia and captained by current CC assistant Eric Rud ‘97, went undefeated (15-0-3) in their first 18 games overall before running away with an unprecedented third consecutive regular-season championship in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association. Their 33 victories - including two against UMass-Lowell (5-3) and the University of Vermont (4-3 in overtime) in the NCAA playoffs - still stands as a school record. Two senior All-Americans - goalie Ryan Bach ‘96 and forward Pete Geronazzo ‘96 - were among eight Tigers to earn All-WCHA recognition that season, when Rud was honored as the league's Defensive Player of the Year and freshman forward Brian Swanson ‘99 was voted Rookie of the Year.



»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4