Jun 9, 2010 8:20 AM by Bea Karnes, News First 5

Aid offered to western Colorado counties with crop losses

Gov. Bill Ritter says six western Colorado counties have been declared federal disaster areas because of cold weather that damaged vinyards.

The counties are Mesa, Delta, Garfield, Gunnison, Montrose and Pitkin. The damage occurred during severe cold weather between December and February. Half of Mesa County's vinyards were affected. The county was declared the primary disaster area.

The designation makes farmers eligible to apply for assistance and loans from the Farm Service Agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.


»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4