Sports

Jun 23, 2010 10:32 PM

Avs release next season's schedule

DENVER - The Colorado Avalanche Hockey Club has released its regular season schedule for the upcoming 2010-11 National Hockey League campaign. The Avalanche will open its 15th season in Denver by hosting the Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks on Thursday, Oct. 7, at Pepsi Center.

Following the season opener, the Avalanche will travel to Philadelphia to meet the other Stanley Cup Finalist, the Eastern Conference Champion Flyers, on Oct. 11 at the Wachovia Center.

Among the highlights of the 2010-11 home schedule is a visit from Sidney Crosby and the Pittsburgh Penguins on Wednesday, Feb. 16, as well as a five-game "holiday" homestand Dec. 17-27 featuring Ottawa, Montreal and Detroit.

The Avalanche will face every Eastern Conference team for the third straight year, playing a total of 18 games against the East (nine at home, nine away). Colorado will take on the Atlanta Thrashers, New York Islanders and New York Rangers twice each (home and away), while meeting the other 12 opponents once. The Avs' Eastern Conference home slate also features appearances from the Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres and Toronto Maple Leafs.

Colorado will play 64 games within its own conference, facing its division rivals six times each (three home, three away) and the other Western Conference teams four times apiece (twice at home). The Avs will host the Blackhawks for the second time on Monday, Dec. 13 and welcome the Red Wings on Monday, Dec. 27 and Monday, Jan. 10. The Avs will wrap up the season by hosting the Edmonton Oilers on Sunday, April 10.

The 2010-11 schedule includes a five-game road trip in October and a five-game road swing in December. The Avs will have three different five-game homestands, all of which will take place in either December or January.

The Avs will play a total of 14 back-to-back games this season. Colorado will have 16 "weekend" games at home, including four on Friday night, eight on Saturday and four on Sunday. The Avs are scheduled for four home afternoon contests.

The Avalanche will have a five-day break in the schedule when the NHL All-Star Weekend is held Jan. 29-30 in Raleigh, N.C. The 58th NHL All-Star Game will take place on Sunday, Jan. 30, at the RBC Center, and the Honda NHL SuperSkills competition will be held on Saturday, Jan. 29.

In addition to its regular season schedule, the Avalanche also announced today its preseason schedule for 2010-11. Colorado will play seven exhibition games, the team's most preseason contests since 2003-04, when they also had seven. The Avs will face the same three opponents, meeting Dallas (three times), Los Angeles (twice) and St. Louis (twice).

Colorado's preseason home dates are Wednesday, Sept. 22 vs. Los Angeles, Sunday, Sept. 26 vs. St. Louis and Tuesday, Sept. 28 vs. Dallas. All preseason home games will start at 7:00 p.m. The Avs will conclude the exhibition slate with the annual Frozen Fury matchup against the Los Angeles Kings on Saturday, Oct. 2 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

The complete broadcast schedule, including Altitude Sports & Entertainment telecasts, and information regarding the on-sale dates for preseason and regular season tickets will be released in the near future.


AVALANCHE PRESEASON SCHEDULE
All Times Mountain
Dates and Times Subject To Change

Tue Sept. 21 at St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Wed Sept. 22 Los Angeles 7:00 p.m.
Fri Sept. 24 at Dallas 6:30 p.m.
Sun Sept. 26 St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Tue Sept. 28 Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Thu Sept. 30 at Dallas 6:30 p.m.
Sat Oct. 2 Los Angeles 7:00 p.m.
(in Las Vegas)


2010-11 Colorado Avalanche Regular Season Schedule
All Times Mountain - Dates and Times Subject to Change

OCTOBER

Thu Oct. 7 Chicago 8:00 p.m.
Mon Oct. 11 at Philadelphia 5:00 p.m.
Tue Oct. 12 at Detroit 5:00 p.m.
Fri Oct. 15 at New Jersey 5:00 p.m.
Sat Oct. 16 at NY Islanders 5:00 p.m.
Mon Oct. 18 at NY Rangers 5:00 p.m.
Thu Oct. 21 San Jose 7:00 p.m.
Sat Oct. 23 Los Angeles 7:00 p.m.
Tue Oct. 26 at Vancouver 8:00 p.m.
Thu Oct. 28 at Calgary 7:00 p.m.
Sat Oct. 30 Columbus 7:00 p.m.

NOVEMBER

Thu Nov. 4 Vancouver 7:00 p.m.
Sat Nov. 6 Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Tue Nov. 9 Calgary 7:30 p.m.
Fri Nov. 12 at Columbus 5:00 p.m.
Sat Nov. 13 at Detroit 5:00 p.m.
Mon Nov. 15 St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Wed Nov. 17 San Jose 7:00 p.m.
Fri Nov. 19 NY Rangers 7:00 p.m.
Sat Nov. 20 at Dallas 6:00 p.m.
Wed Nov. 24 at Vancouver 8:00 p.m.
Thu Nov. 25 at Edmonton 7:00 p.m.
Sat Nov. 27 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Tue Nov. 30 Atlanta 7:30 p.m.

DECEMBER

Fri Dec. 3 at Carolina 5:00 p.m.
Sat Dec. 4 at Tampa Bay 5:30 p.m.
Tue Dec. 7 at Florida 5:30 p.m.
Fri Dec. 10 at Atlanta 5:30 p.m.
Sat Dec. 11 at Washington 5:00 p.m.
Mon Dec. 13 Chicago 7:00 p.m.
Wed Dec. 15 at Chicago 6:30 p.m.
Fri Dec. 17 Ottawa 7:00 p.m.
Sun Dec. 19 Montreal 6:00 p.m.
Tue Dec. 21 Los Angeles 7:30 p.m.
Thu Dec. 23 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Mon Dec. 27 Detroit 7:00 p.m.
Thu Dec. 30 at Edmonton 7:00 p.m.
Fri Dec. 31 at Calgary 7:00 p.m.

JANUARY

Sun Jan. 2 Vancouver 6:00 p.m.
Tue Jan. 4 Buffalo 7:00 p.m.
Thu Jan. 6 Phoenix 7:00 p.m.
Sat Jan. 8 NY Islanders 1:00 p.m.
Mon Jan. 10 Detroit 7:30 p.m.
Wed Jan. 12 at Chicago 6:30 p.m.
Fri Jan. 14 at Minnesota 6:00 p.m.
Tue Jan. 18 Vancouver 7:00 p.m.
Thu Jan. 20 Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Sat Jan. 22 Boston 1:00 p.m.
Mon Jan. 24 St. Louis 7:30 p.m.
Wed Jan. 26 Phoenix 7:00 p.m.

FEBRUARY

Tue Feb. 1 at St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Thu Feb. 3 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Sat Feb. 5 Anaheim 1:00 p.m.
Mon Feb. 7 at Phoenix 7:00 p.m.
Wed Feb. 9 at Minnesota 6:00 p.m.
Fri Feb. 11 at Columbus 5:00 p.m.
Sat Feb. 12 at Nashville 6:00 p.m.
Mon Feb. 14 Calgary 7:00 p.m.
Wed Feb. 16 Pittsburgh 7:00 p.m.
Sat Feb. 19 at San Jose 8:30 p.m.
Wed Feb. 23 Edmonton 7:30 p.m.
Sat Feb. 26 at Los Angeles 2:00 p.m.
Sun Feb. 27 at Anaheim 6:00 p.m.

MARCH

Tue Mar. 1 at San Jose 8:30 p.m.
Sat Mar. 5 Edmonton 8:00 p.m.
Tue Mar. 8 at Minnesota 6:00 p.m.
Fri Mar. 11 Anaheim 7:00 p.m.
Sat Mar. 12 at Nashville 6:00 p.m.
Wed Mar. 16 at Vancouver 8:00 p.m.
Thu Mar. 17 at Calgary 7:00 p.m.
Sat Mar. 19 at Edmonton 8:00 p.m.
Tue Mar. 22 Columbus 7:00 p.m.
Thu Mar. 24 Toronto 7:00 p.m.
Sat Mar. 26 at Los Angeles 2:00 p.m.
Mon Mar. 28 at Anaheim 8:00 p.m.
Thu Mar. 31 Nashville 7:00 p.m.

APRIL

Fri Apr. 1 at Phoenix 8:00 p.m.
Sun Apr. 3 Calgary 6:00 p.m.
Tue Apr. 5 at St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Thu Apr. 7 at Dallas 6:30 p.m.
Fri Apr. 8 Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Sun Apr. 10 Edmonton 1:00 p.m.

 

 

»Comments

»Topics in this article

More News

Weather - Forecast
Story Photo

2 hours ago

Cooler Thursday

Windy early with blowing dust in some areas. Wind ending overnight tonight. An isolated thunderstorm possible early. Overnight low temperatures will drop...

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4