Sports - Denver Broncos

Dec 26, 2013 6:09 PM by Jordan Mason/Denver Broncos

Broncos announce 2014 opponents

The National Football League realigned its divisional and conference structure in 2002 with the introduction of the Houston Texans as an expansion franchise, and with that adopted a scheduling format that determines the majority of each team's opponents.

The formula for each team's 16-game schedule includes: home and away games against its three division opponents (6 games), the four teams from another division within its conference on a rotating three-year cycle (4 games), the four teams from a division in the other conference on a rotating four-year cycle (4 games) and two games against conference opponents based on the prior year's standings (2 games).

The actual schedule should be released by the NFL in April.
Kansas City Chiefs Kansas City Chiefs
Oakland Raiders Oakland Raiders
San Diego Chargers San Diego Chargers
Buffalo Bills New England Patriots
Miami Dolphins New York Jets
Arizona Cardinals St. Louis Rams
San Francisco 49ers Seattle Seahawks
Indianapolis Colts* Cincinnati Bengals*

*Team from that division that finishes in the same place in the 2013 standings as the Broncos.

Tentatively, for the 2015 season, the AFC West will match up against the AFC North (Baltimore Ravens, Cleveland Browns, Cincinnati Bengals and Pittsburgh Steelers) and NFC North (Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers and Minnesota Vikings) as part of the NFL's scheduling rotation. Denver would also play the teams from the AFC East and South that finish in the same place as the Broncos in the 2014 standings.



Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4