Oct 4, 2012 2:06 AM by Eric Naktin

Cabrera Wins Triple Crown

Facing the K.C. Royals on Wednesday, Miguel Cabrera became the 15th player to win baseball's Triple Crown.  He joined an elite list including Mickey Mantle, Ted Williams and Lou Gehrig.

The Detroit Tigers' slugger topped the American League with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs and 139 RBIs.  He's the first Triple Crown winner in the major leagues since Boston's Carl Yastrzemski in 1967.

Commissioner Bud Selig offered his congratulations, calling the Triple Crown "a remarkable achievement that places Cabrera amongst an elite few in all of baseball history."


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4