Posted: Aug 2, 2010 7:06 AM by Bea Karnes, News First 5
Updated: Aug 2, 2010 7:07 AM
A Colorado law requiring kids in cars to be in booster seats until age 8 is now in effect. The law took effect Sunday.
It raises the mandatory age for booster seats from 4 to 8.
Previously the state only encouraged the use of booster seats for kids between 4 years and 6 years.
Babies younger than 1 year old and less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat and only in the back seat of a vehicle. Once babies turn 1 and weigh at least 20 pounds, they can use a front-facing seat.
Drivers who break the booster seat law could be fined $82. But the Colorado State Patrol planned a one-year education period on the new requirements.