Jan 29, 2013 11:30 AM by Lauren Molenburg
DENVER (AP) - Shoppers in Colorado stores won't have to worry about new credit card surcharges being imposed on customers in other states.
The surcharges are illegal under Colorado law, so business cannot add the fees to purchases.
In most other states, stores now have the option of charging customers up to 4 percent to cover the cost of processing a transaction.
According to KCNC-TV (http://tinyurl.com/bgwawzk), nine other states have similar bans, but consumers might have to pay it if they make a purchase online or on the phone with an out-of-state company where the fees are legal.
Information from: KCNC-TV, http://www.cbs4denver.com
(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.)
1 hour ago