Sep 24, 2010 8:43 AM by Bea Karnes, News First 5

Colorado Springs D-11 receives huge federal grants

Colorado Springs School District 11 has received two federal grants totaling nearly $21 million.

The largest, a $15.17 million grant from the Teacher Incentive Fund, will be used to train teachers at ten schools to improve student achievement, as measured by classroom observations and student growth data.

The ten schools are Hunt, Lincoln, Monroe, Queen Palmer, Twain, Wilson, Galileo, Swigert, Mitchell, and Wasson.

The second grant, for $5.18 million, was awarded to Jack Swigert Aerospace Academy. The money will be used to an expand the school's aerospace theme, integrated STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math) curriculum, extended learning opportunities, increased academic interventions, technology and teacher professional development.


»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4