Apr 10, 2010 6:36 PM

El Paso County Democrats like Romanoff

Both political parties had their county assemblies today in Colorado Springs.  The headliner for the Deomcratic Party was the race for U.S. Senate.   Challenger Andrew Romanoff beat Senator Michael Bennet by 10 percent of the vote.  Romanoff had 307 votes while Bennet got 251 votes at the assembly held Saturday morning at Palmer High School.

The Senate race was the only contested race for the Democrats in El Paso County.

The Republican Party had over 1300 delgates vote at the Special Events Center at UCCS.

One of the biggest races is for El Paso County Sherrif.  Incumbent Terry Maketa will be designated 1st on the August primary ballot, while Monument Police Chief Jacob Shirk will be 2nd on the ballot.

In other races, Mark Barker will be the designee for State House District 17, Peggy Littleton for El Paso County Commissioner District 5, and Wayne Williams for El Paso County Clerk and recorder.

The statewide races for the Republicans will be addressed at the State Assembly in May.




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4