Mar 19, 2010 5:58 AM

Falcons land 3 on All-Conference Team on eve of AHA Final 4

Three Air Force hockey players were named to the all-Atlantic Hockey Association team as announced tonight at the AHA Tournament banquet at the Radisson Hotel Riverside in Rochester, N.Y. Junior forward Jacques Lamoureux and sophomore defenseman Tim Kirby were named to the first team. Senior goaltender Andrew Volkening was named to the second team.

Lamoureux was one of two unanimous choices on the first team. A back-to-back all-AHA first team selection, Lamoureux tied for first in the AHA with 18 goals in 28 league games. He was also first with 11 power-play goals, tied for third with 35 points and tied for 11th with 17 assists in AHA games. The assistant captain led the team with 21 goals and 41 points in all games. He is tied for second in the nation with 13 power-play goals in all games and was named the AHA Player of the Month in December.

Kirby earned his first all-AHA selection as he was named to the first-team. The team's top scoring defenseman, Kirby was third in the league with 23 points in 28 league games. He scored four goals on the season and three of them were game-winners in the final three minutes of a game or overtime (RIT, UConn and Holy Cross). He was named the AHA Player of the Week when he had a career-best seven point in the Sacred Heart series, Feb. 26-27, as the Falcons earned four points and secured home ice in the AHA quarterfinals. Kirby had a career-best five assists vs. SHU on Feb. 27, which tied as the most ever by a Falcon in a Division I game.

Volkening, a first-team selection last season and three-time member of the AHA all-tournament team, ranked second in the league in goals-against average (2.24) and third in the league in saves percentage (.924) in 28 league games. Volkening posted four shutouts in league games and was named the AHA Goalie of the Week four times this season. He allowed more than three goals in a game just twice in 28 games and held his opponent to two or less 14 times.

Joining Lamoureux and Kirby on the all-AHA first team are Sacred Heart forward Nick Johnson (tied for the league lead with 18 goals), Canisius forward Cory Conacher (led the league with 44 points), RIT defenseman Dan Ringwald (top scoring defenseman with 10 goals and 27 points) and RIT goalie Jared DeMichiel (led league with 1.78 gaa, .932 saves percentage and 21 wins). Joining Volkening on the second team are Army forward Cody Omilusik, Mercyhurst forward Brandon Coccimigilio, RIT forward Andrew Favot, Army defenseman Marcel Alvarez and Cansius defenseman Carl Hudson.

The third team was made up of Dave Jarman (Sacred Heart), Vincent Scarsella (Canisius), Cameron Burt (RIT), Paul Ferraro (Sacred Heart), Chris Tanev (RIT) and goaltender Ryan Zapolski (Mercyhurst).

Conacher was named the player of the year while Tanev was the rookie of the year. Sacred Heart coach C.J. Marottolo was named the coach of the year.

Third-seeded Air Force (16-14-6) faces second-seeded Sacred Heart (20-12-4) on Friday, at 5:35 our time in the AHA semifinals at the Blue Cross Arena in Rochester, N.Y.




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4