Sep 16, 2010 6:02 PM by Bea Karnes, News First 5

Federal disaster declared for farmers

Fremont County farmers should be harvesting a huge crop of apples right now, but a late freeze damaged the crop.

On Thursday, the U.S. Department of Agriculture declared Fremont County a natural disaster area. The freeze occurred between April 30 and May 3.

Also included in the disaster declaration: Chaffee, Custer, El Paso, Park, Pueblo, Teller and Saguache counties.

The disaster designation makes farmers eligible to apply for aid from the Farm Service Agency.


»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4