Weather News

Aug 7, 2013 9:31 AM by Stephen Bowers

Flash Flood Watch issued for Wednesday

The National Weather Service has posted a Flash Flood Watch for nearly all of Colorado south of I-70. The Flash Flood Watch includes all of the News 5 viewing area and is in effect until 7 AM Thursday. 

These Southeastern Colorado counties are included in the watch until 6 AM Thursday: El Paso, Pueblo, Teller, Fremont, Custer, Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero, Crowley, Bent, Baca, Prowers, and Kiowa. 

Douglas, Elbert, Lincoln, and Cheyenne counties are included in the watch from 12 PM Wednesday until 12 AM Thursday.

Heavy rain developing over the area early Wednesday morning will expand across Southeastern Colorado throughout the morning and into the afternoon. In some areas an inch of rain could fall in an hour, and if that heavy rain falls on areas prone to flash flooding, it could bring about dangerous and life-threatening flash flooding very quickly. Be weather aware and if water starts to rise, move quickly to higher ground. 


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4