Sports News

Jul 16, 2014 8:51 PM

Garrett Grayson named to Davey O'Brien watch list

Colorado State senior quarterback Garrett Grayson earned preseason recognition Wednesday from the premier award for signal-callers in college football, the 2014 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. Grayson is one of 39 players in NCAA FBS to be named to the award's watch list, announced today by the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

It is the first time the Rams' starting quarterback has been named to the list, following a tremendous junior season in which Grayson broke Colorado State's single-season passing record with 3,696 yards in leading CSU to a win in the New Mexico Bowl. Grayson last week spent four days among 40 of the top college quarterbacks chosen to take part in the Manning Passing Academy in Louisiana.

Nearly half (19 of 39) of the players on the watch list are seniors. Thirteen juniors and seven sophomores round out the contingent. Among conferences, the Pac-12 leads the way with eight signal callers on the list. The Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC are all represented by five players, while the Mountain West has four. Grayson, who is the top returning passer in the MW in terms of yards, is joined on the list by fellow MW quarterbacks Cody Fajardo of Nevada, Grant Hedrick of Boise State and Chuckie Keeton of Utah State.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 3. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11.

Grayson started all 14 games for the Rams in 2013 and has started 22 in his career, including the final three games of his true freshman in 2011 and the first five of his sophomore season before leaving the lineup because of injury. In his record-breaking 2013 season he completed 62.1 percent of his passes and tied the school record for touchdown passes in a season with 23. In addition to a new single-season passing record his broke the school records for pass attempts (478) and completions (297) in a season, the latter ranking No. 14 among all FBS quarterbacks.

On Nov. 2, 2013 against Boise State, Grayson set a new Colorado State standard for single-game total offense, tallying 445 (397 passing, 48 rushing) to break the previous mark held by Bradlee Van Pelt (416), with Van Pelt in attendance. For the season he paired with 1,741-yard rusher Kapri Bibbs to form the first tandem in school history to pass for more than 3,000 and rush for more than 1,500 in the same season, and were the only FBS teammates in 2013 to top 3,200 and 1,500 in their categories.

The 38th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015, in Fort Worth, Texas. Jameis Winston of Florida State, the 2013 Davey O'Brien winner, is bidding to become the fourth quarterback ever to win the award twice, joining BYU's Ty Detmer (1990-91), Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1995-96) and Oklahoma's Jason White (2003-04).




Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4