Colorado College

Mar 8, 2012 5:59 PM by Jordan Mason

Jaden Schwartz, Guentzel, Thorimbert earn All-WCHA honors

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Led by sophomore left wing Jaden Schwartz, who emerged as a second-year honoree, a group of three Colorado College players earned All-WCHA recognition for the 2011-12 season.

Schwartz and senior defenseman Gabe Guentzel were named to the league's second team while sophomore goalie Josh Thorimbert received third-team accolades.

Schwartz, a third-team selection as a freshman in 2010-11, currently paces the Tigers with 40 points (15g,25a) overall and has been involved in a CC-high seven game-winning goals, scoring four and assisting on three. He finished seventh among WCHA scoring leaders with 35 points (12g,23a) in just 25 conference outings.

Guentzel, an alternate captain, heads into this week's playoff series against Michigan Tech with 25 points (4g,21a), including the game-winning goal in the second period of last Saturday's 2-0 victory over the Huskies. One of only three Colorado College players to skate in every outing so far this campaign, he's also assisted on three game winners while improving his consecutive games streak to 130.

Thorimbert starts the post-season with the best winning record and highest saves percentage (.928) of any WCHA goalie in league play, sporting a 12-4-1 mark (.735) between the pipes. He's been named the league's Defensive Player of the Week on two occasions while posting a goals-against average of 2.24 overall and 2.33 in the conference.

Guentzel, meanwhile, joined 10 teammates who qualified for All-WCHA Academic status by virtue of a 3.00 or better grade-point average. Also honored were senior defensemen Ted Behrend and Arthur Bidwill, senior forwards David Civitarese and Tim Hall, junior wingers Andrew Hamburg and Scott Winkler, junior goalie Joe Howe, sophomore forwards Alexander Krushelnyski and Archie Skalbeck, and sophomore defenseman Eamonn McDermott. Freshen are ineligible for the distinction.

Voting for the WCHA awards is done by conference member coaches, players, sports information directors and local media. Each team receives eight ballots for a total of 96 voters. Points for awards and all-league teams are awarded on a 5 (1st team vote), 3 (2nd team), and 1 (3rd team vote) basis. The WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year award is selected by member team faculty athletic representatives while the WCHA Defensive Player of the Year is selected by the league's 12 head coaches.



»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4