May 21, 2011 11:39 AM by Matt Stafford
DENVER (AP) - The Colorado State Patrol and more than 100 law enforcement agencies across the state are stepping up enforcement of seat belt and child passenger safety laws.
Next week's stepped-up enforcement is part of a national campaign to get people to buckle up, and it runs through June 5.
Last year, 166 people who weren't buckled up lost their lives in traffic crashes on Colorado roadways. The state Department of Transportation says 68 percent of the deaths were men between the ages of 18 and 34.
Under Colorado law, drivers stopped for another violation can also be ticketed if they and front seat passengers aren't wearing seat belts. The minimum fine is $65.
A driver can be stopped and ticketed for an unrestrained or improperly restrained child under 16.
9 hours ago