Colorado

Dec 1, 2009 5:45 AM by Jeannette Hynes

No texting while driving law is tricky for officers

Colorado's "no texting while driving law" goes into effect Tuesday, December 1.  Patrol officers now have the task of enforcing the law, which becomes difficult to do.

An officer can pull over a driver simply for texting and driving, but both Pueblo Police and Colorado Springs Police plan to enforce bad driving first, and no texting second.

"This type of enforcement is a bit delicate," says Lieutenant David Whitlock, spokesperson for the Colorado Springs Police Department.  "Unless there is some other bad driving and some admission from the driver, and perhaps a crash that occurs, it's going to be a tough one to do."

Whitlock says it is hard for officers to know the age of the driver, and if someone is texting versus making a phone call.

The law states no one younger than the age of 18 can be on the cell phone at all while driving.  Anyone 18 years or older are not allowed to text and drive.  The fines are $50 for the first offense, and $100 for repeat offenses.

The language of the law reads someone has to be "operating a motor vehicle" which does not include when the vehicle is at rest, on the shoulder, or legally parked. 

The exception to this law is when the driver is in or a witness to an emergency situation.

Click here to read the entire law.

 

»Comments

»Topics in this article

More News

Weather - Forecast
Story Photo

2 hours ago

Cooler Thursday

Windy early with blowing dust in some areas. Wind ending overnight tonight. An isolated thunderstorm possible early. Overnight low temperatures will drop...

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4