Mar 14, 2013 5:14 PM by Jordan Mason

Pair of Tigers make 2nd Team All-WCHA

COLORADO SPRINGS - It's been a banner season for Mike Boivin and Rylan Schwartz, and people involved with the Western Collegiate Hockey have taken notice.

The two Colorado College seniors are among 18 players league-wide to earn All-WCHA accolades announced on Thursday, a day before the start of six first-round playoff series that will determine the participants for next week's 2013 Final Five in St. Paul, Minn.

Boivin, whose 14 goals so far this campaign is more than any other NCAA Division I defenseman in the nation, and Schwartz, a center who finished in a tie for fourth among conference scoring leaders, both were second-team selections.

In addition, Schwartz is one of 13 Tigers named to the All-WCHA Academic Team, joining a dozen teammates recognized for maintaining at least a 3.00 grade-point average for the last two semesters. The other 12, in alpahebtical order, are junior forward Jeff Collett; senior right wing Andrew Hamburg; senior goalie Joe Howe; junior left wing Alexander Krushelnyski; sophomore goalie Courtney Lockwood; senior defensman Joe Marciano; junior defenseman Eamonn McDermott; senior right wing William Rapuzzi; junior forward Archie Skalbeck; sophomore defenseman Peter Stoykewych; senior forrward Scott Winkler; and sophomore defenseman Ian Young.

Hamburg, Howe, Krushelnyski, McDermott, Skalbeck and Winkler are repeat recipients of the distinction, for which freshmen are ineligible. Krushelnyski and McDermott earlier were named WCHA Scholar-Athletes by virtue of GPAs of 3.5 or higher.

Boivin also has collected 14 assists this campaign for a career-high 28 points while Schwartz's 43 points (15g,28a) overall tops all CC players heading into Game 1 of a best-of-three playoff series against the University of Denver at DU's Magness Arena at 7:37 p.m. Friday. Faceoff for Games 2 and 3 (if necessary) is 7:07 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.

Senior forward Drew LeBlanc, who helped lead St. Cloud State Unversity to a share of its first-ever regular-season title, was voted WCHA Player of the Year as well as Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year in a ballot of league coaches, captains, sports information directors and media personnel.



»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4