Jan 25, 2011 3:16 PM by Bea Karnes

Vonn, Lysacek take USOC awards for 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) - Lindsey Vonn and Evan Lysacek have been selected the U.S. Olympic Committee's sportswoman and sportsman of the year for 2010.

The four-man bobsled team piloted by Steven Holcomb was chosen team of the year. Alana Nichols, Taylor Chace and the sled hockey team won honors as the USOC's paralympic athletes and team of the year.

Vonn became the first American woman to win Olympic gold in the downhill and also won her third straight World Cup overall title.

Lysaeck defeated reigning Olympic champion Evgeni Plushenko to win gold at the Vancouver Games. He become the first American men's figure skating champion since Brian Boitano in 1988.


»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4