Sports - College

Nov 26, 2013 6:44 PM by Jordan Mason

Wristen, Bonner headline Pack's 22 all-RMAC selections

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. ( - Nov. 26, 2013) - Led by Coach of the Year selection John Wristen and Offensive Player of the Year Chris Bonner (Jr., San Diego, Calif.), CSU-Pueblo led all teams with 22 All-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference selections, the RMAC announced Tuesday.

Bonner, who broke CSU-Pueblo school records for passing yardage and touchdown passes this season, led the ThunderWolves to its third-straight outright RMAC championship and 11-0 regular season record.

Wristen's Coach of the Year honor also marks his third straight award.

Bonner earned first-team All-RMAC honors, as well, at quarterback, one of school-record 13 first-team all-conference selections. Joining Bonner were wide receiver Paul Browning (Jr., Widefield, Colo.), tight end Roger Pfannenschmid (Sr., Pueblo, Colo.), offensive linemen Drew Swartz (Sr., Gilbert, Ariz.), Austin Payne (Jr., Pueblo West, Colo.) and Zack Martinez (So., Redlands, Calif.), defensive linemen Darius Allen (Jr., Pueblo, Colo.) and Mike Pennel (Sr., Aurora, Colo.), and defensive backs C.J. Roberts (Boynton Beach, Fla.), Stephan Dickens (Jr., Aurora, Colo.) and Jarrod Lacy (Jr., Boynton Beach, Fla.), and return specialists Darius Millines (Sr., Boynton Beach, Fla.) and Josh Sandoval (Sr., Pueblo, Colo.).

The 13 All-RMAC first-teamers are the most by any RMAC team since Colorado Mesa sent 13 to the team in 1988.

Second-team honorees including Sandoval (at wide receiver), running back Chris Ashe (So., Colorado Springs, Colo.), defensive linemen Morgan Fox (So., Fountain, Colo.) and Tony Campton (So., Littleton, Colo.), linebacker Ben Estica (So., Palm Beach, Fla.), defensive back Nick Henderson (Sr., Berthoud, Colo.) and punter Brandon Kliesen (Sr., Pueblo, Colo.).

Collecting third-team honors were Millines at wide receiver and Matt Tucker (Sr., Aurora, Colo.) at linebacker.



»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4